Yesterday my 9-year-old asked me, “Mama, it’s Sunday, don’t you have a day off?”

pokemon

I had just sat down to go over my ppt for the class I’m teaching on Tuesday, nervous because I hadn’t finished it during the week. But he was right, so I closed the computer and spent the day playing Pokémon cards with him. I am so thankful he’s there to remind me of what’s really important. My teenager went out with her friends, and soon the little one will no longer want to spend his weekends playing with me, but I will try to remember that weekends are only to be used for work in extreme emergencies. Thank you Noah!

About joannelehrer

I am a PhD student attempting to critically engage with narrative research in early childhood education. My doctoral project focuses on family-educator and family-teacher relationships during the transition to kindergarten in marginalized communities. I created this blog to document the journey, and to reach out to others in the vague hope of creating an opportunity for exchange with other students or academics...kind of like a virtual message in a bottle.

Leave a comment