Woo-hoo, I finished my data collection!

I like being able to cross things off my to-do list. Today I conducted the very last interview for my thesis, and I’m ready to celebrate. Never mind that the data collection was fun and the transcription is torture. I like these major steps, and I think they need to be marked. After my doctoral exam (what we have instead of comps, more like a proposal defence, but a necessary step before you can begin data collection), a friend and I went for coffee. We had talked about drinking cocktails, but at least it was something. I’ll have to organize something better this time. I’m realizing though, that these steps are important, and should be noticed by the university, or by the supervisor. I wish I had more time to work on my thesis, instead of teaching and coordinating that takes up almost 4 days each week, but I have admit, if I did have unlimited time I would probably procrastinate a whole lot more.

About joannelehrer

I am a PhD student attempting to critically engage with narrative research in early childhood education. My doctoral project focuses on family-educator and family-teacher relationships during the transition to kindergarten in marginalized communities. I created this blog to document the journey, and to reach out to others in the vague hope of creating an opportunity for exchange with other students or academics...kind of like a virtual message in a bottle.

Leave a comment