Where do you like to work?

Where do you like to work?

I went to a workshop once on academic writing, and the presenter had us all go around the room and share whether we prefer to write at home, in our offices at the university, or somewhere else. Have I already mentioned that one of my main reasons for returning to school to do a phd was so that I would be free to hang out in cafés all day? Montreal has a great café scene, and I discovered an awesome new one last week – it has everything a café needs for a grad student, in my humble opinion: free wifi, great coffee, and a quiet environment. There are other places I prefer to go to with friends, but café Résonance is perfect for working. I don’t mind paying $5 for a latte, I think of it as rent for the 4 hours I spend sitting there working.

Tags: ,

About joannelehrer

I am a PhD student attempting to critically engage with narrative research in early childhood education. My doctoral project focuses on family-educator and family-teacher relationships during the transition to kindergarten in marginalized communities. I created this blog to document the journey, and to reach out to others in the vague hope of creating an opportunity for exchange with other students or academics...kind of like a virtual message in a bottle.

Leave a Reply

